What to do when hens lay soft-shell eggs

soft-shell-eggWe have gotten six eggs now that have been soft shell.  this just will not do.  The problem is I don’t know which one of the girls are laying these oh so fragile eggs.  Well, they need more calcium in their diet.  We all do, right?  So, what’s a girl  to do?

I can begin giving them crushed oyster shells.  Check – already did that, they just eat around it.

Maybe grapes will do the trick.  They LOVE grapes.  They remind me of that little bird that goes cuckoo for coco puffs.  They go nuts!

Perhaps I should dig up some of the earthworms from the compost.

Next time I buy me some yogurt, I guess I should buy an extra tub for the chickens.  I wonder if they would prefer plain or Greek, Yoplait or Oikos?

Who knew chickens would (and could) eat cheese?  It makes some since I suppose.  They can also eat spinach, corn tortillas, cinnamon and basil.  They can also eat cabbage.  Apparently I bought some picky chickens, because mine turn their beak up at cabbage.

I guess I should go to the grocery store.  I am all out of yogurt and cheese.  Now that I think of it…I am out of a whole lot of that stuff.

 

2 thoughts on “What to do when hens lay soft-shell eggs

Leave a Reply

