A few uses for Vinegar

What’s a girl to do when it’s raining,  too wet to work outside, and there is that itchy feeling in the back of your throat that usually indicates a cold?

Between throwing the tennis ball around for the dogs and laundry, I decided to keep up with my spring cleaning.  Yes, I am still spring cleaning.  I figured that if I work in one room at a time, it would be less overwhelming.  The problem is, the cleaning has not stopped!  The clutter just seems to be multiplying today.  Since no one is here today, I think I may be able to fill a box for a donation to Goodwill.

While straightening the pantry (hey, I was there anyway), I was reading the back of the vinegar container.  Did you know you can do more with vinegar other than making a volcano or making pickles?

Here are a few of my favorite uses from the label:

  • Make a wrinkle spray by mixing  1 part vinegar with 3 parts water.  Mist dried, wrinkled clothes and hand to dry.
  • Protect your garden from unwanted pest by soaking a few rags with vinegar and place the rags in stakes around the garden’s perimeter.  Be sure to resoak the rags every seven days or so.  Hmm, there’s a thought.
  • Ease the irritation from a sunburn, bug bites, poison oak or ivy rashes by dabbing the affected areas with a cotton ball that has been dipped in vinegar.  This will defiantly come in handy as poison ivy begins to sprout!
  • Clean produce you bought from the store by rinsing your fruits and veggies with 4 tablespoons of vinegar mixed with one gallon of water.

There are a multitude of other uses for vinegar such as a laundry booster and a drain deodorizer, but I’m not going to bore you with all of them.

Leave a Reply

