How late can you sleep in?

When I was younger I “could” sleep until twelve or one o’clock. That was clearly before we had children.  Those days are LONG gone. Now, I am lucky if I can make it past seven.

It’s not their fault.  No, they are self-sufficient. They can make their own cereal, and watch TV. They don’t make “much” noise.  The problem is me.

You see, my brain has become programmed to get up at 7:00 am.  It’s like clock work.  Seven a.m. and I am up.

Today is a perfect example.  Today I woke up at 6:45.  There was no need for me to get up that early.  The kids are out of school for Mardi Gras.  Mr. Dad is also off work for the holiday.  No need to set the alarm.  Which I didn’t.  So, it was 6:45, and I am laying there.  My brain is already spinning with lists of things to do today.  Things that couldn’t get done over the weekend because of the rain.

For what seemed like 30 minutes I laid there staring at the ceiling, trying to work up the energy to actually get out of bed, while wishing I could go back to sleep.  After a while, I can hear the kids getting up.  Shortly after that, Mr. Dad got up.

Still, I lay there, in the dark, determined to sleep past 8:00.

Within five minutes, I start thinking about the things that need to get done.  That list that didn’t get done over the weekend.  Things that are going to get added today.

I give up.  I got out of bed.  It was only 7:30 am.

That’s when I realized, I can no longer sleep late.  It seems to be impossible for me to do that.

I walk to the kitchen to start my day.  First on the list…COFFEE.  I have to start my day with coffee.

Can you hibernate longer than this?  Or IS it really possible?

2 thoughts on “How late can you sleep in?

  1. I so get what you’re saying. I don’t even try to sleep in anymore…it just doesn’t work. As soon as my eyes open in the morning, around 6 a.m (no alarm clock) my brain is in high gear and I have to get up and get started. It doesn’t matter if I’m tired or rested- I’m up!!

Leave a Reply

