Bulbs, bulbs, bulbs

Holy Cannoli!

canna_total

I way under estimated the amount of cannas that were growing in the garden.  I have WELL over 50 “bulbs”.  Which by the way, aren’t even bulbs at all.   But rhizomes, which actually store starch, making them a main attraction of the plant to agriculture, having the largest starch particles of all plant life.  Who knew? However, I DO NOT suggest eating them.  You can store this little bit of use-knowledge in the back of your brain.  If you are ever on Jeopardy (or a call in quiz show) you will know the answer.

canna_clump

Any who, back to the bulbs.  After almost an hour of digging, I came to the realization that if I knew how to operate the tractor, the job may have been a tad easier.  But, I don’t, so I didn’t. reference_of_size

Some of the clumps of dirt and bulbs weighed 50 pounds.  At least!  I’m only guessing based on the fact it’s seems easier to lift my dog into the bath tub, and he’s over 50 pounds.

canna_bulbs_in_totes

The “Australian” Cannas had grown to around six feet tall, maybe even higher.  I had cut them back about a month ago.  The leaves had started to die back and I don’t like looking at them when they are all shabby looking.  In the end, I ended with three 10 gallon totes full of canna bulb clumps, and some over worked muscles.  (That’s my work out for the month! )  I left some of the dirt on them (adding to the weight).  I have read on the internet that some people have left them in garbage bags in the basement all winter.  I think if I leave them in side, they should be fine until spring when I plant them up front by the fence.

I didn’t get to the “purple flower plants”.  I may do that today.  Either way, everything needs to be moved or transplanted so that all of the dirt can be put in the compost.  If I do this little task now, come spring when I make the new raised beds I will have less work.

Just a note to Mom:  Nest time you ask if I want a “few” canna bulbs, the answer is an unequivocal NO!  Any one who knows me in real life, want some canna bulbs?

By the way, does anyone know when you can transplant Sago Palms?  I have three that need to be moved.  Any advice would be great.

Leave a Reply

